Category: Uncategorized

NTFS MetaFiles

http://blogs.technet.com/b/askcore/archive/2013/11/08/3303108.aspx
They sit there, hiding in the root directory…metafiles. The shell hides them from the user, but they are still there…lurking. Microsoft does a pretty good job hiding these files so you don’t accidentally damage them. But what are these files and how does NTFS use them?

Before we have a look at them I’d like to issue a warning…

WARNING!!! Do NOT try to alter or delete these files. Doing so can and will cause permanent damage to your file system. And more than likely CHKDSK won’t be able to save you. You will lose all your data if you ignore this warning.

Hopefully you are now sufficiently scared.

If you haven’t already done so I recommend you read my blog entitled “The Four Stages for File Growth” to give you a better idea of how files are stored on your hard drive. It isn’t required for understanding this blog but it would help.

Now let’s have a look at these elusive files.

File 0 – $MFT: Not to be confused with the actual MFT (Master File Table), the $MFT tells us where all the pieces of MFT are. The MFT is part of the $MFT file. And the $MFT file is contained within the MFT. It’s this whole ‘chicken and the egg’ thing.

$MFT – A file in the Master File Table (MFT)

MFT – The table that contains all file records

What makes it confusing is that the entire MFT is in the $MFT file and the file record for $MFT is found in the MFT.  They are separate structures but each one contains the other.

File 1 – $MFTMirr: This file tells us the location of a backup of the first few files in the MFT. In data recovery situations, where the beginning of the MFT is damaged, this mirror can help save the day. I’ve used it a number of times myself.

File 2 – $LogFile: This is simply a journal of the NTFS’s metadata transaction. Like most metafiles, it is not human readable and not meant for use by the user. Corruption of this file can cause you not to be able to mount the file system. This can be easily fixed by simply resizing the file. These two commands can assist with that….

Chkdsk <drive:> /L

(to find out the current size for $LogFile)

Chkdsk <drive:> /f /L:<new size>

(to resize$LogFile)

File 3 – $Volume: This file keeps record of the NTFS version, volume information, and the volume label. So if you name your volume ‘DAVE’, this is the file that stores that information

clip_image002

File 4 – $AttrDef: The $AttrDef file defines the different attributes that the file system can have. Here is a list of the attribute types available:

$STANDARD_INFORMATION

$ATTRUBUTE_LIST

$FILE_NAME

$VOLUME_VERSION

$OBJECT_ID

$SECURITY_DESCRIPTOR

$VOLUME_NAME

$VOLUME_INFORMATION

$DATA

$INDEX_ROOT

$INDEX_ALLOCATION

$BITMAP

$SYMBOLIC_LINK

$REPARSE_POINT

$EA_INFOMRATION

$LOGGED_UTILITY_STREAM

NOTE: Do not confuse file attributes like $DATA and $FILE_NAME with attributes like READ-ONLY, SYSTEM, or HIDDEN (which are actually just flags).

File 5 – (.): The dot (.) is the root directory for the volume. So when you do a ‘dir’ of c:\, you are looking at the dot (.).

File 6 – $Bitmap: This file keeps track of all the clusters of the volume and whether or not each cluster is currently in use. That’s how we can quickly determine how much free space you have. We just ask $Bitmap.

File 7 – $Boot: Contains boot sector and the boot strap (the first 16 sectors of the volume). The boot sector contains the location of the $MFT and $MFTMirr. Otherwise we wouldn’t know where to look for them.

clip_image004

In the image above, all parts of the $BOOT file are shown in RED. The file starts in the MFT and points back to the beginning of the volume for its $DATA attribute, which contains the boot strap. It is this boot strap code that tells us what boot loader we are using (NTLDR for Windows XP/Windows 2003 and BOOTMGR for Vista/Windows 2008). Also the boot sector tells us the location of the MFT. This is part of how Windows is able to locate files during the early stages of bootup, before the NTFS.SYS driver actually loads.

File 8 – $BadClus: Keeps a record of the clusters on your volume that contain physically bad sectors. We mark them bad so we don’t try to use them. If you ever run CHKDSK with a /r switch, then you are telling CHKDSK to update $BadClus with any new bad sectors that are found.

File 9 – $Secure: Contains security information. For obvious reasons, I’m not going to tell you how it works.

File 10 – $UpCase: This file contains the casing table.

Trivia – For the young folks that don’t know, the terms upper case and lower case came about with the early printing presses that kept the capitol letters in the upper drawer or case, while the more often used small letters were stored in the closer, lower case.

File 11 – $Extend: A directory that can house files used for optional extensions.

That’s about it. Microsoft reserves space in case we want to add any additional files. So you won’t start seeing normal files until File 17.

Exchange 2010 mailboxes inherit IMAP folder views and attributes if imported from a PST dump of an IMAP account

http://mellositmusings.com/2012/08/29/exchange-2010-mailboxes-inherit-imap-folder-views-and-attributes-if-imported-from-a-pst-dump-of-an-imap-account/

Exchange 2010 mailboxes inherit IMAP folder views and attributes if imported from a PST dump of an IMAP account

Posted on August 29th, 2012

I recently had to migrate 9 IMAP accounts from GoDaddy to our Exchange 2010 server. Since GoDaddy does not offer export services and it was only 9 accounts we decided to use a handful of Outlook profiles to connect to the GoDaddy IMAP accounts and pull down a full copy of the mailboxes. The exact process we used is as follows:

  1. Use Outlook to connect to the IMAP accounts in question and pull down a full copy of the mailbox. You may run into issues accessing multiple large IMAP accounts from 1 Outlook profile. In my experience 5-10 accounts per profile should be ok.
    1. By default Outlook will only pull down the headers of IMAP messages, so you will need to instruct Outlook to do a full sync
    2. This is done under the Send/Receive Ribbon Tab -> Send & Receive Section -> Send/Receive Groups -> Define Send/Receive Groups…
    1. In the Send/Receive Groups window, highlight All Accounts and <click> the Edit…button
    1. Under the Accounts section make sure to highlight the IMAP account in question, and in the section labeled Account Options <select> one folder’s check box. Then <select> the radio button for Download complete item including attachments. Finally <left click> on the same folder and you should see an option to select and apply the same item to all folders with in this IMAP account. Repeat for each IMAP account
    1. Now perform a send/receive and wait for the all the messages to come down
  1. Since Outlook creates a PST file for each synced IMAP account (C:\Users\ACCOUNT\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook) they can be used to directly import the mailbox into an Exchange account
  2. On my Exchange server I created 3 empty accounts (the reaming 6 became distribution groups) and used the following PowerShell command to import each PST into the corresponding empty exchange account
    1. New-MailboxImportRequest –Mailbox USERNAME –FilePath \\NETWORK\PATH\OF\IMAP.PST
    1. You also create a script to pull them all in at once, here’s an example of one way to do it if the PST file names match the user name
      1. Dir \\NETWORK\PATH\OF\*.PST | %{New-MailboxImportRequest –Name ImportOfPst –BatchName ImportPstFiles –Mailbox $_.BaseName –FilePath $_.FullName}

In our case these imported mailboxes belonged to a small consulting company that was purchased by my company. The users getting these email boxes already had accounts on our Exchange 2010 server and these imported accounts would be used to continue any business correspondences still associated with the old company.

So we gave the user’s send as and full access to their imported accounts and let auto-map do its magic. The issue we ran into was that while they could see the imported mailbox all new emails did not show up even though the unread count was increasing. When we checked via EWS, Active Sync, and Outlook Web Access the new items were visible.

After some poking around we noticed that while the folders and mail items were imported into an Exchange mail box, they retained the folder views associated with an IMAP account. The default view  of an IMAP account is to Hide Messages Marked for Deletion, but what it actually does is filter all the messages with the IMAP status of Unmarked.

The idea is to hide any IMAP messages marked for deletion that haven’t synced up with the IMAP server. Since Exchange messages do not have this field they would not show up with this filter applied. If the view is changed to IMAP Messages, which applies no filter, then all the messages show up. You can even apply this view to all the other mail folders. But a more elegant solution would be to remove the views all together, especially if you have hundreds of mailboxes having the same issue.

There are two ways I found to do this, one is a manual process that can only correct 1 folder at a time. The other is intended to correct mailboxes by the batch, but can also be applied to 1 mailbox

First method (Manually change each folder in a mailbox)

Using MFCMAPI you can change each email folder attribute from an IMAP designation (IPF.Imap) to an Exchange designation (IPF.note). MFCMAPI requires you to have access to the mailbox in question and a mail profile setup to access it (you can create one on the 1st run of the program). So you can either run the application from the user’s profile or a profile with access to the account:

  1. Start the program and login to your mail profile by going to Session -> Logon and select the profile that has access to the mailbox you need to edit. Once connected highlight that mailbox, <left click> and select Open Storefrom the drop down menu
  1. Once in the store navigate to the Top of the Information store. Depending on if this is mailbox is the default for the profile or added to it (via the Full Accesspermission) the folder tree is slightly different
    1. Default for profile : IPM_SUBTREE
    1. Secondary : Root Container -> Top of Information Store
  1. Now highlight the mail folder in question and look for the Property named PR_CONTAINER_CLASS, PR_CONTAINER_CLASS_A, ptagContainerClass and <right click> and select Edit Property… from the drop down menu
  1. From here you can edit the ANSI entry, which you’ll want to change from IPF.Imap to IPF.Note. Then <click> the OKbutton
  1. Repeat for all the mail folders in the container and exit the program when you are done.

Second method (“Find and Replace” batch method)

You’ll need a program from Microsoft called EXFolders, which you will install and run from the Exchange server (see the readme instructions included in the download). The instructions on using this program have been re-purposed form the following TechNet post answer provided by Kevinrk:

  1. Run EXFolders directly from the Exchange Bin folder
  1. Go to File -> Connectand fill the following fields:
    1. Type : Mailboxes
    1. Connect by : Database
    2. Global Catalog Server : Select your GC
    3. Databases : Select the Mailbox Database you want to work on
  1. Now select either the entire Mailbox Database or an individual mailbox you want to correct and select Tools -> Custom Bulk Operation.
  1. In the window labeled Custom Bulk Operation look for the section labeled Overall Filter and enter in the following string to make sure that only the mail folder container class is changed :
    • (&(0x361300iE=IPF.Imap))
  1. Under the section labeled Operations <click> the Add button and then select Other folder properties in the Operation Typewindow
  1. In the Folder properties operation window set the following options
    1. Action : Modify
    1. Property : PR_CONTAINER_CLASS : 0x3613001E
    1. Value : IPF.Note
  1. Once those options are set the Add button and then the OKbutton
  1. When you’re back to the Custom Bulk Operation window <click> OK to run the bulk operation. From here Exfolders will walk through the mailbox container(s) and change each instance of the PR_CONTAINER_CLASS from IPF.Imap to IPF.note

What’s next?

For either method you should have the user restart Outlook to make sure the changes take place. In some cases the IMAP views persisted and I had to reset the user’s views in Outlook (outlook.exe /cleanviews).

[Tip] How to Enable Enterprise Mode in Internet Explorer 11 and Later?

[Tip] How to Enable Enterprise Mode in Internet Explorer 11 and Later?

share this: facebook | twitter | google+ | reddit | tell a friend

The latest version of Internet Explorer web browser is 11.0 which comes preinstalled with Microsoft’s latest operating system Windows 8.1 and can also be installed in Windows 7 and Server 2008 R2 using following link:

Download Internet Explorer 11 (IE11) for Windows 7 and Server 2008 R2

IE11 comes with various new features such as preloading website content in background to optimize performance, 64-bit process for Enhanced Protected Mode, support for SPDY/3 protocol, etc.

Another interesting, useful and hidden feature introduced in Internet Explorer 11 is the "Enterprise Mode" which has been implemented to provide better support for websites having compatibility issues in IE11 web browser.

Basically Enterprise Mode in IE11 tries to behave like IE8 version so that older websites which can recognize IE8 but can’t recognize the new IE11 version, can open properly in IE11. Enterprise Mode in IE11 replicates original IE8 user agent string and outputs IE8’s response to ActiveX controls and other binaries query so that old websites can open perfectly in IE11.

Enterprise Mode also brings back many deprecated features of IE8 such as CSS Expressions, etc for websites which contain objects or legacy web apps requiring those features to run. Enterprise Mode also turns off preloading website content feature of IE11 because some old websites do not support this feature. Basically you can consider Enterprise Mode as an emulation of IE8 web browser within IE11 which uses a modified browser configuration to open incompatible websites.

Enterprise Mode in IE11 is disabled by default but interested people can enable it using following methods:

  • METHOD 1: Using Group Policy Editor (gpedit.msc)
  • METHOD 2: Using Registry Editor (regedit.exe)

Once enabled, you can use Enterprise Mode feature in IE11 or later by accessing Menubar using ALT key and then click on "Tools -> Enterprise Mode" option. It shows an icon in addressbar so that you can know if the current website is running in Enterprise Mode or not.

Internet_Explorer_Enterprise_Mode_Enabled.png

METHOD 1: Using Group Policy Editor (gpedit.msc)

You can turn Enterprise Mode on in Internet Explorer 11 or later using Group Policy Editor. Just follow these simple steps:

1. Type gpedit.msc in RUN or Start search box and press Enter. It’ll open Group Policy Editor.

2. Now go to:

Computer Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Internet Explorer

3. In right-side pane, look for "Let users turn on and use Enterprise Mode from the Tools menu" option.

4. The option would be set to Not Configured. Double-click on it and set it to Enabled.

Turn_On_Enterprise_Mode_Internet_Explorer.png

Apply the changes and now you can use Enterprise Mode feature in Internet Explorer 11 and later using "Tools -> Enterprise Mode" option in Menubar.

PS: To disable Enterprise Mode feature, again set the "Let users turn on and use Enterprise Mode from the Tools menu" option to Not Configured.

METHOD 2: Using Registry Editor (regedit.exe)

If you don’t want to use or can’t use Group Policy Editor, you can take help of Registry Editor for the same task. Just follow these simple steps:

1. Type regedit in RUN or Start search box and press Enter. It’ll open Registry Editor.

2. Now go to following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\

3. Create a new key Internet Explorer under Microsoft, then create another new key Main under Internet Explorer key. Again create another new key EnterpriseMode under Main key.

So the final key structure would be:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\EnterpriseMode

4. In right-side pane, create a new string Enable and leave its value empty as shown in following screenshot:

Enable_Enterprise_Mode_Internet_Explorer.png

That’s it. Now you can use Enterprise Mode in Internet Explorer web browser from Menubar -> Tools -> Enterprise Mode option.

PS: To disable Enterprise Mode in future, delete Enable string created in step 4.

Windows 8 (Store and all apps broken with black X, can’t access PC Settings)

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/windows/en-US/6f119828-dd1b-42da-b8b5-c6e6c0d5617c/no-apps-or-windows-store-work-after-upgrading-to-windows-81-enterprise?forum=w8itproinstall

The following finally fixed all issues for me (Store and all apps broken with black X, can’t access PC Settings):

1) Fixing the app store:

  1. Open registry editor typing regedit.exe from a command line.
  2. Browse to the registry key at HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\Local Settings\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\appmodel\repository\packages.
  3. Right click on the “packages” key and bring up the “Permissions” tab.
  4. Click the “Advanced” button located at the bottom right corner.
  5. Check to see the account name that shows up as the “Owner” (this is the first line of text on the “advanced security settings” dialog for the “packages” key). It should say “SYSTEM”.  (For me this showed the built-in local Administrators group)
  6. If it is any other account, click on the “Change” button next to it.
  7. Type SYSTEM in the “select user” dialog. If “Multiple Names Found” window comes up, select the row for “SYSTEM”.
  8. Click OK to the dialogs and close them all.
  9. Run from admin command prompt:     Powershell -ExecutionPolicy Unrestricted Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register $Env:SystemRoot\WinStore\AppxManifest.xml

2) Fixing all modern apps:

Run from admin PowerShell:

((Get-ChildItem "HKLM:SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Appx\AppxAllUserStore\InboxApplications") | Get-ItemProperty).Path | Add-AppxPackage -Register -DisableDevelopmentMode

    * When I ran this the black X persisted until after the next step and reboot.  But trying to start an app gives me a new message and a link to the store.

3) Fixing 3rd party apps:

Delete the regkey: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Appx\AppxAllUserStore\[UserSid]

4) Restart.  After a reboot the apps still showed the black X for a minute or so, but it soon cleared up on its own and all apps seemed to be working again.  I was also able to update the apps from the app store once signing in with a Microsoft account.  Finally, I am again able to get into PC Settings.

Steps to move a DHCP database using netsh export

http://blogs.technet.com/b/networking/archive/2008/06/27/steps-to-move-a-dhcp-database-from-a-windows-server-2003-or-2008-to-another-windows-server-2008-machine.aspx

The DHCP database can be moved or migrated from a Windows Server 2003 server to a Windows Server 2008 server, or from one Windows Server 2008 server to another.  The information below details the necessary steps.

Export the DHCP database from a server that is running Microsoft Windows Server 2003 or Windows Server 2008

To move a DHCP database and configuration from a server that is running Windows Server 2003 or Windows Server 2008 to another server that is running Windows Server 2008:

1.   Log on to the source DHCP server by using an account that is a member of the local Administrators group.

2.   Click Start, click Run, type cmd in the Open box, and then click OK.

3.   Type netsh dhcp server export C:\dhcp.txt all , and then press ENTER.

Note: You must have local administrator permissions to export the data.

Configure the DHCP server service on the server that is running Windows Server 2008

1.   Click Start, click Administrative Tools, click Server Manager. If needed acknowledge User Account Control.

2.   In Roles Summary click Add Roles, click Next, check DHCP server, and then click Next.

Import the DHCP database

1.   Log on as a user who is an explicit member of the local Administrators group. A user account in a group that is a member of the local Administrators group will not work. If a local Administrators account does not exist for the domain controller, restart the computer in Directory Services Restore Mode, and use the administrator account to import the database as described later in this section.

2.   Copy the exported DHCP database file to the local hard disk of the Windows Server 2008-based computer.

3.   Verify that the DHCP service is started on the Windows Server 2008-based computer.

4.   Click Start, click Run, type cmd in the Open box, and then click OK.

5.   At the command prompt, type netsh dhcp server import c:\dhcpdatabase.txt all , and then press ENTER, where c:\dhcpdatabase.txt is the full path and file name of the database file that you copied to the server.

Note When you try to export a DHCP database from a Windows 2000/2003 domain controller to a Windows Server 2008 member server of the domain, you may receive the following error message:

Error initializing and reading the service configuration – Access Denied

Note You must have local administrator permissions to import the data.

6.   To resolve this issue, add the Windows Server 2008 DHCP server computer to the DHCP Admins group at the Enterprise level and redo steps 4 & 5.

7.   If the "access is denied" error message occurs after you add the Windows Server 2008 DCHP server computer to the DHCP Admins group at the Enterprise level that is mentioned in step 6, verify that the user account that is currently used to import belongs to the local Administrators group. If the account does not belong to this group, add the account to that group, or log on as a local administrator to complete the import and redo steps 4 & 5.

Authorize the DHCP server

1.   Click Start, point to All Programs, point to Administrative Tools, and then click DHCP.

Note You must be logged on to the server by using an account that is a member of the Administrators group. In an Active Directory domain, you must be logged on to the server by using an account that is a member of the Enterprise Administrators group.

2.   In the console tree of the DHCP snap-in, expand the new DHCP server. If there is a red arrow in the lower-right corner of the server object, the server has not yet been authorized.

3.   Right-click the server object, and then click Authorize.

4.   After several moments, right-click the server again, and then click Refresh. A green arrow indicates that the DHCP server is authorized.

How to make Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials client connector install behave just like Windows Home Server

http://www.tinkertry.com/how-to-make-windows-server-2012-r2-essentials-client-connector-install-behave-just-like-windows-home-server/

Connect to Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials without affecting your DNS, staying in workgroup mode

To find this article and registry setting easily when you’re out and about, just type tinkertry.com/connect which brings you back to this article. Please bookmark/share!

When you install the R2 connector for daily backups, if you’d rather it skip the domain join (staying in a workgroup), AND not have it not monkey with your all your NIC’s DNS settings (including Hamachi, VMware, etc), then this article is for you! The connector install is now incredibly fast on Windows 8.1, a vast improvement over all previous client connector installs. See for yourself, in the video I created below.

I’ve been wanting to get around to making the move from Windows Server 2012 Essentials (with Update Rollup 3) over to Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials. But R2 has no Update Rollups yet. Remember those nifty Microsoft-documented tweaks for DNS that I like to think I had a little something to do with? They don’t work under R2. Even worse, that Windows Server LAN Configuration service is gone too. So I found myself in a bit of a pickle. How to make R2 behave more like its predecessors, so I could make the move?

Another hurtle is that R2 Essentials users face a rebuild from scratch anyway. Yes, you heard that right, there is no upgrade path to R2 from Windows Server 2012 Essentials, explained here. So when an issue arose with my faithful daily backup methods these past 10 months, I was facing reconfiguring my daily PC backups for 14 machines, with 5TB of daily backups to re-seed. This became strong motivation to stop fiddling with the old, and start over with the new R2. I figured I’d much rather build from scratch, while keeping my 3TB network share drive intact, just as I’ve been doing with all prior upgrades to.

For some reason, I thought it might not be too hard to figure out what Microsoft is doing with the registry keys.

So first, I simply followed the tweaks listed the Microsoft-documented tweaks for 2012 Essentials, just for grins, to see if they’d happen to work on 2012 R2 Essentials. No joy, client DNS messed up.

So I dove in deeper. Tried a few things with a bunch of Windows 8.1 builds and connector install methods. And before long, there it was, that wonderful eureka moment of discovery, obtained when tinkering with a purpose, persistently, patiently. It’s actually fun.

This one tweak to the registry, at the right spot in the install, was all I needed to get everything working just like I wanted, with:

  • domain join skipped (staying in workgroup mode), makes for a super-fast install
  • DNS unaltered for client (leaves DHCP in auto, so DHCP feeds it, rather than hard-coded DNS IP of the R2 Essentials server)
  • simple, with no services to mess with
  • no need to clean-up numerous NICs you may have (Hamachi, VMware, VPN, etc, where you don’t want DNS altered)
  • doubtful this would somehow hurt or affect any future rollups in any way

Here’s the actual procedure:

0) Uninstall any prior versions (Windows Home Server, Windows Home Server 2011, Windows Server 2012 Essentials), then reboot, before you proceed with step 1

1) Follow Microsoft’s recommended way to avoid domain join (leaving your network in Workgroup) by copying the following line into your clipboard:

reg add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Server\ClientDeployment" /v SkipDomainJoin /t REG_DWORD /d 1

2) Press Win+x, choose ‘Command Prompt (Admin)’

3) Right-click on the Command Prompt window, choose Paste

4) Press enter, and the registry change is then automatically made, you can close this window

5) Kick off the connector install with the usual URL:

http://servername/connect

or, if you’re on a remote network, it’s

https://servername.remotewebaccess.com/connect

6) Go through the install, and stop at the point where it asks you for credentials

7) Next, Run regedit.exe, then head to this key

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Server\Networking\ServerDiscovery

then change “SkipAutoDNSServerDetection” from False to True.

8) Enter the credentials, and the connector install will continue

Yep, that’s really all you got to do, no reboot required!

The first backup will start automatically if you’re within your backup window (time of day), and finished up in just 2 minutes in my case (SATA3 SSD to SATA3 SSD, fresh Windows 8.1 Pro build, no other backups on the server yet).

~connect-to-windows-server-2012-r2-essentials-without-affecting-your-dns-staying-in-workgroup-mode

I know folks have been clamoring for this fix for many weeks now. Thanks for your patience. Enjoy!

Transfer Outlook 2010 Auto-Complete to new computer

http://www.itsupportguides.com/office-2010/transfer-outlook-2010-auto-complete-to-new-computer/

 

MSOutlook2010-AutoComplete1

Outlook has an function to suggest email addresses as you start to type them in, commonly known as the ‘auto-complete’ feature.

It works by keeping a list of people you’ve emailed so when you go to write a new email address and start filling out the ‘to’, ‘cc’ or ‘bcc’ field it will suggest the similar email addresses.

Previous versions of Outlook stored this list in a file called ‘Outlook.nk2′ however Outlook 2010 now uses an XML file called ‘stream_autocomplete’.

Transferring the file to a new computer or user profile is a simply copy and paste process:

Please Note: Outlook needs to be closed

  1. First you need to find the file. The location may be different depending on if you’re using Windows XP or Windows 7/Vista:
    1. Windows XP -  C:Documents and Settings%username%Application DataMicrosoftOutlookRoamCache
    2. Windows 7 / Vista – C:Users%username%AppDataLocalMicrosoftOutlookRoamCache
  2. The file will start with ‘Stream_autocomplete’ followed by a string of hex numbers
  3. MSOutlook2010-AutoComplete1
  4. Copy the file to a safe location, e.g. a USB drive
  5. On the new computer or user open the same folder location and paste in the file:
    1. Windows XP -  C:Documents and Settings%username%Application DataMicrosoftOutlookRoamCache
    2. Windows 7 / Vista – C:Users%username%AppDataLocalMicrosoftOutlookRoamCache
  6. Open Outlook and check the the auto-complete has been successfully transferred.

Windows Error Codes and err.exe

http://keithga.wordpress.com/2013/10/04/windows-error-codes-and-err-exe/

It seems that the Windows Operating System loves error codes. It’s getting better, most programs will automatically translate the error code number back to a friendly error. And new or Windows 8, Microsoft has added a new error screen for the Blue Screen of Death that includes a Frown :^( emoticon.

But there are times when you need to find out what an error message actually means, or at least a hint on what it means. A friend recently asked about an error 0xc0000017 on Blue Screen of Death on a Virtual Machine. What does it mean?

I recommended a tool that I have been using internally at Microsoft, and was pleasantly surprised to find that it’s available externally. Err.exe. You can download it here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=985

When you run the tool, pass the error number as a parameter on the command line. It’s smart enough to handle decimal numbers ( 12345 )and hex numbers ( 0×4005007 )

For the error above I ran the tool and got the following output:

C:\ >err 0xc0000017
# for hex 0xc0000017 / decimal -1073741801 :
  STATUS_NO_MEMORY                                              ntstatus.h
# {Not Enough Quota}
# Not enough virtual memory or paging file quota is available
# to complete the specified operation.
# 1 matches found for "0xc0000017"

Sure enough the virtual machine had only 512MB of ram assigned, which was not enough. Bumping the ram up eliminated the BSOD.

Display Public Folder and Other Contacts in the Address Book

 

http://www.slipstick.com/outlook/contacts/display-other-contacts-in-address-book/

Tom Yeager June 20, 2013 at 2:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

Many thanks to Diane Poremsky and to all of Slipstick for this method that I have used for over a year. I’d like to suggest a similar but, for me, more successful method of showing another’s contacts in an Address Book.

This procedure never results in the "Your mailbox has been temporarily moved…" message that frequently occurred with the published method. (On some computers, I was never able to get that to go away, before now.) Nor did it ever cause the Status Bar message “Online with Microsoft Exchange” rather than the preferred “You are connected to Microsoft Exchange” which I often saw regardless of the state of my Use Cached Exchange Mode setting.

My method was tested extensively on several OL2010 installations. A key to its success is that OL 2010 allows multiple Exchange accounts under one profile. So this method will not work with OL 2007, but, likely, will work with OL 2013, which I have not tested. The OL accounts sharing out their contacts were OL 2007 and OL 2010. The Exchange server was Microsoft’s Office 365 which uses Exchange 2013 for my accounts there.

Preliminary steps, unknown if necessary, include that the shared out contacts were not the primary contacts folder, but a separate folder. The contacts owner had her own private contacts folder and a separate much larger customer contacts folder that the entire office needed to see. A sharing invitation for the customer contacts folder had been earlier sent to the other users.

My steps are
1.) In Control Panel | Mail, create a profile pointing to your own Exchange mailbox. Then, as a 2nd account (not an additional address), add the mailbox of the person owning the contacts you need access to.
2.) In OL, right-click the other user’s Contacts folder, choose Properties, then switch to the Outlook Address Book tab. Make sure that the Show this folder as an e-mail Address Book box is checked. Under Name of the address book, change the displayname from Contacts (the default) to a name that will distinguish this address list, such as Joe’s Contacts if you’re in Joe’s mailbox.
3.) Close OL!
4.) In Control Panel | Mail, open the Properties of the profile. Click Email Accounts, then Remove the 2nd account. On your own account, click Change, then More Settings, then Advanced. Add the 2nd account in as an additional address.
5.) Restart OL using this profile. The other person’s contacts will now be included in the Address Book.

Setting up NTP

http://blog.mpecsinc.ca/2014/05/hyper-v-standalone-configure-host-as.html
Hyper-V Standalone: Configure the Host as Authoritative Time Server and Guests to Use It

We have a number of single server virtualization solutions where the VMs are running at quite a high load point.

This tends to create timing issues with the VMs not being able to keep up with keeping time. In some cases we have SQL VMs that can skew time visibly.

So, we need a reliable time source. We are not able to set pool.ntp.org as the time source for the primary DC in this situation as it would not be keeping time very well either thus requiring a more frequent polling interval. Do that with ntp.org and the server will receive a Kiss-of-Death packet in short order.

So, we configure our Hyper-V host to be an authoritative time server polling ntp.org’s servers every 30 minutes.

To do so we need to set things up on the host.

  1. Allow UDP Port 123 Inbound on the firewall
  2. Configure the host as a time server:
  3. We run the Fix It Myself steps
  4. Verify Type is set to NTP
    • image
  5. We specify the regional pool.ntp.org servers
  6. Set AnnounceFlags to 5 in
    • HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\W32Time\Config\AnnounceFlags
  7. Enable the NTPServer service by setting Enabled to 1
    • image
  8. Default Poll Interval
    • image
  9. Set the SpecialPollInterval to 15 minutes
    • image
  10. Set the phase correction settings to 30 minutes
    • image
  11. net stop w32time && net start w32time

We use this free tool to test our setup from a client system:

Drop in the Hyper-V host’s name and we should see the following:

image

Once we have a successful time poll we run the following command set on the PDCe VM as per our :

  1. w32tm /config /syncfromflags:manual "/manualpeerlist:Hyper-V.DOMAIN.LOCAL,0x1" /reliable:yes
  2. w32tm /config /update
  3. net stop w32time && net start w32time
  4. w32tm /resync /force
  5. w32tm /query /source

The final result should be the Hyper-V server as source time.

We then create a batch file with the step 4 command in it and schedule that batch file to run as frequently as every minute on the most demanding VMs.